JINA: Center for the Evolution of the Elements



4 JINA-CEE participants named APS Fellows

JINA-CEE Co-PI Timothy Beers, and Senior Investigators Rebecca Surman, Brian O'Shea, and Alan Wuosmaa (UCONN) have been elected as 2016 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).

The fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers for exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise—outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. In a given year, only 0.5 percent of APS members are elected fellows.

Timothy Beers, who is located at the University of Notre Dame, was nominated by the Division of Nuclear Physics for extensive surveillance of the metal-poor stars in the Milky Way that constrain the origin of the elements in the universe and the nature of neutron-capture nucleosynthesis processes in early generations of stars.



Timothy Beers



Brian O'Shea

Brian O'Shea, who is an associate professor at Michigan State University, with a joint appointment in the Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering, the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, was nominated by the Division of Computational Physics for his outstanding contributions to the study of cosmological structure formation using large-scale supercomputing, and leadership in the development of computational science research and education.

Rebecca Surman, an Associate Professor in Theoretical Nuclear Physics and Astrophysics at the University of Notre Dame, was nominated as well by

the Division of Nuclear Physics for her contributions in elucidating r-process nucleosynthesis, in particular for connecting microphysics such as mass models and reaction rates to astrophysical environments, and for guiding the experimental efforts worldwide on deciding the most impactful nuclei to study at exotic nuclear beam facilities.

Alan Wuosmaa,



Rebecca Surman



Alan Wuosmaa

Connecticut, was nominated for essential contributions to nuclear physics over a wide range of topics including the demonstration of the nonexistence of positron lines in collisions with very heavy nuclei at the Coulomb barrier, the nature of cluster structures in nuclei, studies of particle multiplicities in relativistic heavy-ion collisions, and the exploration of single -particle properties of light exotic nuclei.

professor at the University of